The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) is a system for classifying industries by a four-digit code. The SIC codes can be grouped into progressively broader industry classifications: industry group, major group, and division. The first two digits represent the highest-level business classification, while the subsequent two digits are used to further refine the identification. Each division encompasses a range of SIC codes.

Range of SIC Codes Division
0100-0999 Agriculture, Forestry and Fishing
1000-1499 Mining
1500--1799 Construction
1800-1999 Not Used
2000-3999 Manufacturing
4000-4999 Transportation, Communications, Electric, Gas and Sanitary service
5000-5199 Wholesale Trade
5200-5999 Retail Trade
6000-6799 Finance, Insurance and Real Estate
7000-8999 Services
9100-9729 Public Administration
9900-9999 Non-Classifiable